Science Olympiad Invitationals Brings STEM Competition To Greenwood

By Norah Laughter, Reporter

On Saturday, December 1, the Greenwood High School Science Olympiad attended the state invitationals in Louisville. The team of 15 competed in 20 events, all of which were math and science related.

Saturday morning students were told to arrive at Greenwood at 4:20 in the morning. Everyone was drowsy as the teams loaded all of the equipment needed onto the underside of the bus. The drive was quiet, as most everyone was asleep, but some were dedicated enough to study for their event.

Upon arrival to J. Graham Brown School, teams unloaded in the rain and checked in. Round one began shortly after arrival, followed by five other rounds and an awards ceremony. Ms. Leeper and Ms. Asberry went to help out with Experimental Design and Mrs. Murphy attended a coaches meeting, so students were primarily responsible for getting to their events on time.

Rounds were about an hour long, but students were allowed to leave the testing room after they finished their test. They were required to stay in the cafeteria, which is where all of the teams were being housed.

Lunch was not built into to schedule so students had to fend for themselves in between rounds. Most students competed in at least three events. There was an hour of free period where test grading was completed and students cleaned up their areas. Awards commenced shortly afterwards. Greenwood placed sixth overall against five magnet schools, which are known for being competitive. duPont Manual took the top three spots with three of their five teams. 

Students were brought home late Saturday. Region tournament will be held March 23, so students will spend the next few months preparing.

Anatomy and Physiology: Bella Norman and Eden Casebier
Astronomy: Noah Jacobs and Kaylee Brannon
Chemistry Lab: Nick Polra and Poojan Pansuryia
Circuit Lab: Kelly Mruk and Het Parekh
Codebusters: Nick Polra and Noah Jacobs
Designer Genes: Eden Casebier and Nidhi Patel
Disease Detectives: Eden Casebier and Norah Laughter
Dynamic Planet: Poojan Pansuryia and Charles Skean
Experimental Design: Nidhi Patel and Samirah Salifu
Fermi Questions: Noah Jacobs and Nick Polra
Forensics: Norah Laughter and Samirah Salifu
Fossils: Nidhi Patel and Maharshi Sharma
Geologic Mapping: Charles Skean and Maharshi Sharma
Herpetology: Eden Casebier and Maharshi Sharma
Mission Impossible: Noah Jacobs and Devan Spade
Mousetrap Vehicle: Devan Spade and Poojan Pansuryia
Protein Modeling: Hannah Greenway, Samirah Salifu, Kaylee Brannon
Thermodynamics: Hannah Greenway and
Sounds of Music: Charles Skean and Bella Norman
Water Quality: Norah Laughter and Kelly Mruk

Chemistry Lab -1st place, Nick Polra and Poojan Pansuriya
Fermi Questions: 1st place, Nick Polra and Noah Jacobs
Thermodynamics: 3rd place,  Het Parekh and Hannah Greenway
Mission Possible:  3rd place, Devon Spande and Noah Jacobs
Astronomy: 4th place; Noah Jacobs and Kaylee Brannon
Experimental Design-4th place, Samirah Salifu, Nidhi Patel, and Poojan Pansuriya
Forensics-4th place; Samirah Salifu and Norah Laughter
Write It-Do It-4th place; Nick Polra and Poojan Pansuriya
Dynamic Planet-5th place;  Charles Skean and Poojan Pansuriya

Science Olympiad team after competition on December 1, 2018.